Previous attempts to get some drone photos of the building and scaffolding had been frustrated by gulls nesting nearby. However with fewer gulls around, it has now been possible to get some stunning shots of the building.
When Anchor was originally built in 1888, the building had a wet-laid Cornish slate roof, and this will now be reinstated. This is best carried out in the summer, so work needs to start as soon as possible. However the underlying roof structure and timber frame walls all need a significant amount of repairs and strengthening to take the weight of the slates, and the scope of these repairs is being assessed and agreed by the Structural Engineer and Architect.
Inside the building, all the internal boarding has been removed from the eastern end of the building to reveal the timber framework. Following inspection by the structural engineer and architect, sheets of ply were re-fixed to the walls to provide some temporary strengthening to the structure while the required repairs were agreed.
Downstairs all the internal partitions have been removed, the ground dug out to prepare for the new floor and a new drain has been installed. There was a discussion about whether to replace the timber floor with a solid limecrete slab, but it has been decided to retain the timber floor.
Anchor in centre of photo
Studio, east end temporarily strengthened with ply sheets
Studio, west end stove and wall linings removed
Roof, east end making repairs
Roof, east end checking repairs
Ground floor partitions all removed
Photographer: Alban Roinard
Architect: Rolfe Kentish Architect; QS/Project Manager: Trevor Humphreys Associates
Main Contractor: Symons Construction
Funding: National Lottery Heritage Fund; Arts Council England; Cornwall Council; Architectural Heritage Fund; Historic England; Garfield Weston Foundation; The Pilgrim Trust; The Sylvia Waddilove Foundation; and The Cornwall Heritage Trust.