Porthmeor Residencies

Danny Fox. The Ballad Of 6th Street
Katie Schwab. A Portable Mural
Tamara Henderson. Seasons End Out of Body

Three of the Porthmeor studios (Studios 5, 9 and 11) and Anchor Studio are used at times for the Porthmeor Artists Residency Programme, Freelands Foundation Residencies, the Wilhelmina Barns-Graham Trust Residency, Visual Arts Scotland Exchange Programme, Tate St Ives Artists Programme and the Falmouth University Transitions Programme.

The Porthmeor Artists Residency Programme

The Porthmeor Artists Residency Programme was inspired by events in 1959 – the year when emerging artist Francis Bacon rented Studio 3 for six months to work towards his debut show and American painter Mark Rothko visited to share ideas with studio tenant artists Peter Lanyon, Patrick Heron and Terry Frost. This combination of a unique artistic heritage, a collaborative spirit and a sense of place is the foundation of our Programme which provides space for artists to develop new work without the pressure of exhibiting.

This world class Residency Programme was started in 2017, and has welcomed  Katie Schwab, Danny Fox, Tamara HendersonVeronica Ryan, Amelie Esterhazy, Jonathan Baldock, Lubaina Himid MBE, Daniel SinselSteven Claydon, Michael Dean, Saelia Aparicio, Ebon Sodipo, Sir Richard Long, Afra Al Dhaheri and Tate Collective.

The programme was generously supported by Arts Council England Catalyst, The Wilhelmina Barns-Graham Trust, The Porthmeor Fund, The John S Cohen Foundation and a two generous donors who wish to remain anonymous.

Tate St Ives Artists Programme
Tate St Ives have been using Porthmeor Studios for their Artists Programme since 2003, when Partou Zia was their first artist in residence. The Artists Programme supports the development of diverse artistic practices, providing a productive environment that values experimentation and risk, discussion and debate.

Tate St Ives Artists Programme to date: Partou Zia, Ged Quinn, Kerstin Kartscher, Nick Evans, Jonty Lees, Linder, Marie Toseland, Nicolas Deshayes, Lucy Stein, LUX, Torsten Lauschmann, Lucy Joyce, France-Lise McGurn, Jessica Warboys, Morten Norbye Halvorsen, Rana Begum and Allard von Hoorn.

Falmouth School of Art’s Transition Porthmeor Residency
Porthmeor Studios also hosts the Transition Porthmeor Residency programme for the School of Art at Falmouth University, in which selected recent graduates are offered a short residency soon after their graduation.

Transition Residency artists to date: Elin Barker, Maisie Blackburn Scott, Nicholas Popham, Hana Omori, Rachael Baskeyfield, Joanna Hulin, Anna-Karin Waara, Charmaine Honeychurch, Polly Maxwell, Lulu Richards Cottell, Demelza James, Rob Davis, Jo Owst, Lily Thomson, Edward Spencer, Sophia Rosenthal, Sofia Fernandes, Samuel Morris, Holly Doran, Olivia Brelsford-Massey, Ella Squirrell, Aleksander Grzybek.